LAKE MASPENOCK WEED MANAGEMENT CITIZENS INPUT GROUP HOPKINTON MA 10748

June 8, 2020

In attendance:
John Westerling, DPW
Cynthia Esthimer, Chair
Jaime Goncalves, Vice Chair
Drew Logan, Secretary
Eric Sonnett
Jeff Barnes
David Mitchell

Public Guests
Joe Baldiga

Ms Esthimer called the meeting to order at 5:00 pm.

Minutes from the February 13, 2020 meeting were unavailable for review so they were not voted on for approval.

Election of Officers commenced. Cynthia Esthimer was re elected as President (unanimous) while Drew Logan was re elected as Secretary (unanimous). Jaime Goncalves will be leaving the Committee as of July 1. Joe Baldiga expressed interest in joining the Committee.

A discussion about the need for the lake survey ensued. The group agreed that continuing the Spring and Fall cadence of surveys is in our best interest. The next survey was scheduled for June 13th at 9:00 am using 2 boats in light of social distancing requirements.

The group recommended the DPW appeal the decision of the Hopkinton Conservation Commission to decline the NOI for herbicide usage. Vote was 4 in favor and 1 abstain (Barnes). The appeal will be made to the DEP within the 30 day requirement.

There was more discussion around the Conservation Commission vote to decline the NOI. Having additional options beyond herbicides, per the operational plan, may be helpful in the future.

All members of the Committee wished Jaime well and thanked him for his service and dedication.

Minutes respectfully submitted by Drew Logan, Secretary